Joven Entre Los Jóvenes/Young Among the Young

Brother-Miguelángel-López-croppedBy Brother Miguelángel López, Région Lasallienne Européenne-Mediterranéenne (RELEM)

(English translation available below Spanish)

Soy el H. Miguelángel López del Sector de Andalucía (Distrito ARLEP). Tengo 34 años y actualmente soy el Delegado de Misión Pastoral del Sector de Andalucia. En 2006 tuve la suerte de participar en el II Simposio Internacional en la comisión preparatoria y en el desarrollo del mismo. El segundo simposio nos invitó a reflexionar sobre el Movimiento Juvenil Lasaliano como una MISION POSIBLE. Era posible la realidad de los Jóvenes Lasalianos en el Instituto. Ocho años después tengo que dar gracias a Dios por darme la oportunidad de estar aquí, en la maravillosa tarea de CONSTRUYENDO ESPERANZA JUNTOS.

Al principio no sabia muy bien a qué venia al Simposio. Era el único Hermano de la RELEM que venía. ¿Tendría que hacer algo concreto? ¿Mi misión era la de acompañar a los jóvenes? Realmente no sabía cual era mi cometido exacto en el Simposio hasta que me di cuenta que mi principal misión era (y es) la de ser JOVEN entre los JÓVENES. Esa es la misión de un Hermano joven. Estar al lado, estar cerca, estar dispuesto, estar pendiere… estar con ellos, siendo uno de ellos. Pero no es la misión de un Hermano Joven solo en el Simposio, sino en su misión diaria, allá donde se encuentre. Estar en el Simposio está siendo una riqueza para mi crecimiento personal y vocacional como Hermano de La Salle.  No entendería un Hermano que no quisiera estar entre jóvenes… me siento feliz, realizado y con mi vocación más reforzada aún. Los jóvenes son el rostro en el que Dios me regala cada día para encontrarme con Él.

El 3er. Simposio esta siendo una oportunidad para encontrarme con mi propia vocación como joven lasaliano… soy un joven lasaliano que cristalicé mi vocación como Hermano de La Salle, pero no por eso he dejado de sentirme un joven lasaliano.

El Hno. Vicario General nos decía que somos el futuro, y el futuro es ahora. Este es el presente que Dios me ha regalado, y me apasiona sentirme Hermano, joven entre los jóvenes.. y así, juntos poder construir esperanza juntos, para hacer posible el sueño de Dios en La Salle hoy.

———————————————-

I am Br. Miguelángel López from the sector of Andalucía (RELEM District). I am 34 years old and I am currently the Chief of Mission & Pastoral Ministry for the sector of Andalucia. I was fortunate to participate in the 2nd International Symposium of Young Lasallians in 2006 on the planning and development committee. The second symposium invited us to reflect on the Young Lasallian Movement as a MISSION POSSIBLE. That reality of Young Lasallians was possible in the Institute. Eight years later I have to thank God for giving me the opportunity to be here, for the wonderful task of BUILDING HOPE TOGETHER.

At first I did not know what would come from the Symposium. I was the only Brother coming from RELEM. Would I have to do something specific? Was my mission to accompany young people? Really, I did not know what my exact role in the Symposium until I realized that my main mission was (and is) that of being YOUNG AMONG THE YOUNG. That is the mission of a Young Brother. Being at the side of, staying close to, being available, being ready to … being with them, and being one of them. This is not only the mission of a Young Brother during the Symposium, but in our daily lives wherever we are. Being at the Symposium has been such a rich experience for my personal and vocational growth as a De La Salle Christian Brother. I do not understand a Brother who does not want to be among young people… it makes me feel happy to realize that this only further strengthens my vocation. Young people are the face that God gives me each day so that I can encounter Him.

The 3rd symposium has been an opportunity for me to explore my own vocation as a Young Lasallian… I am a Young Lasallian who has realized my vocation as a De La Salle Christian Brother, but I have not stopped feeling like a Young Lasallian.

Brother Thomas Johnson, Vicar General, told us that we are the future and the future is now. This is the gift that God has given me, and I feel very passionate about being a Brother – young among young people… so that, together we can build hope together to make the dream of God a reality in our Lasallian world today.

Share your comments

